Renewed Focus Proposed

My infrequent blogging of late is indicative both of recent busyness and of motivation.  With so little interaction with readers over blog posts, I often wonder whether writing is worth it.  At first, I was motivated to write largely for myself, hoping that some people would read and occasionally benefit from what I had to say. But this motivation of late has not been enough to make it a priority.  I need to be spurred by some confidence that it may also be valuable to others.

With that in mind, I am considering a season of exclusive writing on a topic that I have touched on occasionally, but that I am finding is something that inspires my passions politically and socially perhaps more than anything else:  religious freedom.

While Americans still enjoy, relative to much of the rest of the world and to much of history, tremendous religious freedom, it is, I’m more and more convinced, as vulnerable as it has ever been in our nation’s short history.  Anyone who loves liberty enough to fight for it should be concerned about threats to religious freedom, regardless of their particular religious convictions, because religious freedom is the foundation for other freedoms.  Other freedoms are contingent on religious freedom because the right to live according to one’s religious beliefs is the main force that keeps the power of the state in check.  Religious freedom is about living according to moral authority that is higher than the authority of the state.  Without belief in such an authority and freedom to obey it, the authority of the state becomes the highest and ultimate authority, and thus has the power to encroach upon other freedoms.

This is what is on my heart to write more about.  But I need to know that it matters to others.  If you read this, please let me know what you think!

7 comments on “Renewed Focus Proposed

  1. Laurie says:

    I agree Jeremy!
    We are losing our freedoms. And having quite a few grandchildren now, it alarms me to the world they will be raised in.
    Everyone needs to watch the movie “John Adams” and see what our fore-fathers fought for, yes, freedom!
    God is still on charge if all things, so I will always trust in Him!

  2. Brad Craver says:

    This topic is interesting to me, but there are already many things written on the topic and accessible through many sources. Is there a particular perspective that you think is missing on the subject? I would like to find a Christian assessment of the different forms of government.

    • Somehow I missed this, Brad. I thought you had automatic approval for comments. True, there are many sources and voice. I hadn’t considered that. I was only thinking about how pressing the issue has become and the need to help educate others about it. What kind of commentary/analysis would be unique and valuable?

      • Brad Craver says:

        The phrase: “There are too many chiefs and not enough indians” comes to mind… Let’s just count a few chiefs:
        – Rush Limbaugh
        – Glenn Beck
        – Michael Savage
        – Mark Levin
        – Matt Drudge
        – Matt Kibbe (FreedomWorks)
        – Ron Paul
        – Walter Williams
        – Thomas Sowell

        Now tell me why it is that these great minds can’t unify themselves (or their followers) to stand against those infringing upon our rights? Anyone can start a blog or post on Facebook about their misfortunes at the expense of the government, but few will engage by partnering with others to correct the problems. As a former congressional candidate and student of unaffiliated / other-party politics, I can testify that the movement for protecting individual rights is progressing much slower because fewer are willing to SUPPORT and FOLLOW those who are trying to fight. Just think of how many gospel preaching churches and political campaigns of upright candidates are stunted for LACK of SUBMISSION. It’s as if the vein of independence in this country has become it’s downfall.

        What do you think?

  3. Adam F says:

    Does your argument have room for people who could fight for religious freedoms but are not personally religious? I’m thinking in particular of the line which begins, “Without belief in such an authority and freedom to obey it…”

    That said, I’d be interested to hear about these ideas once or twice over a drink, which is sort of how a blog functions for me, anyway, and more interested if your project interacted with one particular historical event, book, or idea in philosophy. That sort of focus might bring people in for the long haul.

    • Jeremy N says:

      Hi Adam! Thanks for your feedback. I can see how someone who is not religious could support religious freedom personally on pragmatic grounds (recognizing that historically it is essential to a prosperous and just society), though I do not think pragmatism provides any logical principle that warrants demanding religious freedom.

Leave a Reply

